Board President – Sheila Huff Named Peabody Educator of the Year

Posted on Oct 14, 2015

Principal of Bosse High School Sheila Huff was named “Educator of the Year,” from among an impressive list of last year’s Southwest Indiana and Illinois Peabody Energy Leader in Education award winners during the Leaders in Education Recognition dinner on Aug. 29.

Lt. Governor Sue Elsperman lauded the awards program and the work of educators. “It truly is a pleasure to gather this evening to recognize an exceptional group of educators for the different they make in the lives of young people. You’ve inspired a spirit of curiosity and passion for learning both inside and outside the classroom. You’ve inspired strong partnerships with parents and communities. You’ve inspired students to graduate and go on to fulfilling professions. Simply put, you’ve transformed the life choices of young people.”

Huff has been recognized for many awards over the years – and most recently in January 2015 received the Peabody Award. She was recognized at that time for being a true educational leader, an academic visionary, and an extremely credible communicator.  At the banquet, Kemal Williamson, president of Peabody Americas said Huff has been dedicated to her school and students for more than three decades.  “This person is well respected by students, parents and community leaders alike for a no-nonsense approach to students’ personal and academic responsibilities, the benefits of organized athletics and extracurricular activities and to life in general. This individual has achieved incredible career success as a classroom teacher, track coach, assistant principal, and principal.”

He also pointed out that under her direction, Bosse was honored with the bronze award in the 2013 and 2014 editions of the U.S. News and World Report’s “American’s Best High Schools” publication.  And, among the recent prestigious honors awarded to Huff, was being named one of the YMCA’s 100 Most Influential Women of Evansville,  the Rotary Paul Harris Fellow, the 2014 Athena Award, and the 2013 Indiana Excellence in Education Award from AdvancED.

She has received a lifetime achievement award from the Indiana High School Athletic Association for having given herself and her talents for over 35 years to student athletes – serving as head girls track coach to her perennial powerhouse teams from 1976-1998. She had three individual champions; and the team held five IHSAA titles, as well as three regional championships.  She has also coached volleyball, boy’s tennis and girl’s gymnastics.

“Her students respect her, her teachers love her – and she epitomizes what is right in education today,” said Superintendent David Smith.

The Leaders in Education Program was created to empower and energize outstanding educators. The Leaders program seeks to amplify the value placed upon educators by recognizing the significant role that they play in our communities.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.